Walking & Hiking Route Search

Walking & Hiking Route Search

Walking Across Europe is superb so get on your walking boots to see the region at its very best and really get away from it all.

Regions of the UK

The UK is home to some of the most interesting and beautiful landscapes in the world. Whether you are looking for romantic parks, wild and rugged wildernesses or an idyllic peaceful backwater, National parks, theme parks, zoos and Royal attraction, Boutique, vintage, designer, even Royal shopping. Great Britain seems to have it all.

As you know, the UK is made up of four different regions that are not independent nations. These regions are England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland. Here are presented those 4 regions.


1. England

England is the largest of the four geographical regions that belongs to the United Kingdom. It is bordered by Scotland to the north and Wales to the west and it has coastlines along Celtic, North and Irish Seas and the English Channel. The last one separates England from continental Europe, but there is the undersea Channel Tunnel of 21 mile (34 km). The terrain of England consists mainly of gently rolling hills and lowlands. There are several large rivers in England and the most famous and longest of these is the Thames River that runs through London. London is the biggest city in the UK and it’s the capital of England.


2. Scotland

Scotland is located on the northern part of Great Britain and it borders England to the south and has coastlines along the North Sea, Atlantic Ocean, North Channel and Irish Sea. Scotland’s area also includes almost 800 offshore islands. The capital of Scotland is Edinburgh but the largest city is Glasgow. The terrain of Scotland is varied and its northern parts have high mountain ranges, while the central part consists of lowlands and the south has gently rolling hills and uplands. Despite its latitude, the climate of Scotland is temperate because of the Gulf Stream.


3. Wales

Wales is a region of the United Kingdom that is bordered by England to the east and the Atlantic Ocean and Irish Sea to the west. The capital and largest city of Wales is Cardiff. Wales has a coastline of 746 miles (1,200 km) which includes the coastlines of its many offshore islands. The largest of these is Anglesey in the Irish Sea. The terrain of Wales consists mainly of mountains and its highest peak is Snowdon at 3,560 feet (1,085 m). Wales has a temperate, maritime climate and it is one of the wettest regions in Europe. Winters in Wales are mild and summers are warm.

4. Northern Ireland


Northern Ireland is a region of the United Kingdom that has borders with the Republic of Ireland to the south and west and has coastlines along the Atlantic Ocean, North Channel and Irish Sea. Northern Ireland is the smallest of the UK’s regions. The capital and largest city is Belfast. The terrain of Northern Ireland is varied and consists of both uplands and valleys. Lough Neagh is a large lake located in the center of Northern Ireland and is the largest lake in the British Isles. Besides, you must have heard it’s legend about a monster that lives in this lake. It’s amazing and mysterious place which must be visited.

Here are 10 a must-see places in the UK:

1. Richmond Park, South West London
2. Polperro, South East Cornwall
3. Giants Causeway, Northern Ireland
4. Glen Nevis, Scotland
5. Lake District, North West England
6. Little Venice, London
7. Hope Valley, Peak District
8. Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
9. The Jurassic Coast, East Devon to Dorset
10. Llanberis Pass, North Wales